Valentine’s Day: I finally get it… I think

Renee (My Work Wife) With her gift from her other Husband :)
Renee (My Work Wife) With her gift from her other Husband 🙂

I, like most men, have detested valentine’s day for years. The compulsion, the expectation, the red and white… hate it all. Like others, I believe that love should be expressed and embraced all year round and doesn’t require a special day to be observed. In the past I’ve done everything to make my disapproval of the day known. No flowers, No dates, No gifts. It has been a mission of mine to debunk the beloved, day of love.

Alaina (Co-Worker) with her Valentine's Day gifts
Alaina (Co-Worker) with her Valentine’s Day gifts

Today, like a lightning bolt, it occurred to be me. Valentine’s day is not about me or what I believe. It is not even about my “Special Someone”, who, like me, is not really into the day. What is important is that when her co-workers see the bouquet of assorted roses I sent to her office, they will know that she is loved by someone who cares enough to go the extra mile to make her day special.

She knows how much I love her. Now, they know it as well.

Leave a Reply

